Waiting for Orbo

So 1,200 Euros lighter.. (around £980 where I come from), I am now eagerly waiting for my new Orbo phone charger to arrive.  I appreciate the high price tag would have most of you wincing at the very thought of paying this much for something you can buy for a few pounds – however this is a phone charger with a difference.

This special piece of kit keeps charging your phone (or ipad etc) over and over again without needing to be replenished by any external energy source.  This is a pretty far out claim and has courted a huge amount of controversy, but nonetheless its being sold on a website, I have paid for it, and apparently its going to be delivered to me shortly (!).  The unit comes with pretty standard terms and conditions which state if it doesn’t work, you can send it back – so what is there to lose?

In simple terms the Orbo charger is a stand alone unit with two main components – a battery which acts as a reservoir of electrical power and another unit which charges that battery with a continuous, albeit small, electrical current.  The unit charging the battery is obviously the interesting part – because in scientific circles, having an isolated unit which continually produces an electrical current is not actually possible.  We are all aware you can’t get something from nothing; indeed there are laws in place that deal with this type of thing – the conservation of energy would say a firm ‘no’ to this unit doing what it allegedly does.

Does it have a hamster inside on a wheel? or a more elaborate Tesla type device feeding off power from radio waves?  Well I can’t be certain until I have one in my possession and start testing it out… Hence I’ve decided to start this blog to document my use and testing of my impossible Orbo phone charger.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

