Don’t count your chickens..

Ok, so I got my money back from my credit card company.. well at least for about 6 weeks that is.  I then had a letter from them confirming they would be taking the money out again as I had essentially paid ‘transferwise’ rather than dealing directly with Steorn Limited (?@£$£$%^!@$£%) and my claim was null and void.

I have since sent quite a few further chases to Steorn – and I even had confirmation from Steorn’s CFO that money had been sent as of last week – but still nothing has arrived in my bank account.

I have threatened Steorn with a winding up order, but having set about completing the service documentation for this today, I have discovered that in sunny Ireland, the rules are different to the UK – the minimum you need to be out of pocket by is 10,000 euro’s! (in the uk its a more sensible £750 – and a very effective way of getting your money back).

Anyway, I have filed a Small Claims Court application tonight instead..

What a pain in the arse this all is..

 

3 comments

  1. Mark · September 28

    Dang, man. I’m sorry that this is all turning out this way. I hope that the money gets there, and there was not some kind of error. (or fraud…) Well, I think that someone else has posted, on the last main post, that Shaun McCarthy has started a personal blog and has been Tweeting…but you probably don’t care much about that, now…well, I hope everything gets resolved.

    Like

  2. emso · September 28

    There’s no error, the only error was me buying the damn thing! :o)

    Like

    • Mark · September 28

      Sorry to hear that. The only upshot that I can think of is you possibly getting some punitive damages out of it. It really seems like they should have had your money back to you, by now. Well, if it is not too much trouble, keep us updated about all of this until it is resolved. Once again, I hope that it works out in your favor.

      Like

Leave a Reply

